Meet … Connor Bowley

12th July 2017

The latest in our ‘meet the team’ blog series features Connor, who after more than five years with First Steps, joined our Brinsbury nursery earlier this year.

As one of only a handful of male Childcare Assistants at First Steps, and having worked at each of our nurseries during his time with us, we thought it would be good to find out a little more about Connor…


When did you first join First Steps?

I first joined First Steps in 2013 as a student at the Chichester nursery working 2 days a week.


What made you decide on childcare as a career path?

I was going to go into care work for my best friend so started to get the qualifications I needed. One of the placements was at First Steps Chichester and so it began…!


As we know, childcare tends to be female dominated. Are people surprised when you say you work in a nursery and why do you think there aren’t more men following this path?

Yes, when I say I work in a nursery it is automatically assumed I work in a plant nursery! There really aren’t many men in this career so people are quick to judge.


What’s the funniest thing a child has said to you?

Are you Kristoff?

(We think Connor does look a little like Kristoff actually!)


Having worked at each of our nurseries at some point and with First Steps for a number of years, what do you think makes us different to other nurseries?

I feel the main difference is that we are very child focused and really think about each child’s experience. We have fantastic resources and dedicated staff that challenge, motivate and inspire the children, encouraging them to be confident, independent and really enjoy their time with us. We have access to great outdoor space, both within our nurseries and on our campuses, and we are always looking at how we can improve and adapt to continue offering the very best.


What’s the best thing about working at our Brinsbury setting?

Definitely the location! Our countryside setting is amazing and the children have fantastic access to nature at it’s very best. The children also love our proximity to the Animal Centre and the fact that we can hear dogs, sheep, ducks, ponies and cows from the nursery, as well as watching horses walking by.


What do you enjoy doing when you’re not at work?

I enjoy spending time with my family and I love playing rugby.


Name three things you’d take with you to a desert island?

A rope, knife and tomato ketchup!


What’s your favourite nursery rhyme (and you have to have one!)

Sleeping Bunnies. Or one of the different versions I sing on a daily basis.

(If you visit Brinsbury, you will often hear Connor in full song in Step 2!)


And now for some quick fire questions Connor …


Tractor or Porsche?

Both please! A tractor because you can go anywhere and it has a lot of power and a Porsche because it is fast and has excellent handling.


Pop or rock?



Take-away curry or pizza?

Pizza, everytime!


Paw Patrol or Peppa Pig?

Paw Patrol


Dog or cat?



Do you have any pets?

No, I used to though.


What’s the best holiday you’ve been on?

Either Florida or California. Both were brilliant.


Where would you live if you could choose to be anywhere in the world?

America. Florida, California or Hawaii – I love the surfer life style!


Do you have a party trick?!

Unfortunately not. Still searching for it!


And finally … tell us something we don’t know about you.

I have done a sky dive over Salisbury.


Thanks Connor.