Meet … Gemma, Childcare Assistant at Brinsbury

31st August 2016

At First Steps, we employ over 60 staff and it is this team of hard working, talented and enthusiastic individuals that make our nurseries such a wonderful place to be. We are extremely proud of them.

To help you get to know the people behind First Steps better, we are launching a ‘meet the team’ series of blogs where we (or our children) will interview them to find out a bit more about them.

This month we are talking to Gemma Woodjetts. Gemma is a Childcare Assistant at First Steps Brinsbury working in Step 3 with our older children. Gemma can often be found reading to the children or splashing in muddle puddles!

Risking a slightly more diverse line of questioning, we thought it would be fun to ask some of our children in Step 3 to interview Gemma so here are Paxton, Amy, Freddie, Poppy, Noah, Frankie, Oscar, Max, Niall, Reg and Jens asking Gemma what really mattered to them:


Do you have a pet?

Not now. I did used to have a cat called Smudge though.


Do you walk every day?

Not every day, but I do like walking.


Where do you go on holiday?

In our caravan. We’ve just been away to Norfolk and went on a canal boat too.


Do you make dinner at home?

I do, sometimes for my Daddy too.


What’s your favourite food?

Pasta. I especially love lasagne and garlic bread.


What else do you do at home?

I enjoy reading and I make cards.


Do you like Minions?

Yes, I do.


How do you get to nursery?

In my Mummy’s car. It’s blue.


Do you have a bike?

Yes, it’s blue and white.


What’s your favourite colour?



Do you like having a bath?

I prefer a shower.


Do you do lots of sports?

I like swimming and Zumba.


What’s your favourite animal?

A tiger. And I like birds of prey too.


Do you have any brothers or sisters?

Yes, I have a younger brother called Alan and a big sister called Kelly.


The children also drew a wonderful picture of Gemma.  Thank for being our first ‘meet the team’ subject Gemma.

Watch this space for the next one …